My MH fixture came in yesterday....now what?

gordob

Market
Reaction score
I have been running PCs for several years now, but I just bought a halide fixture. What do I need to do to acclimate my corals to the brighter light? I have softies, LPS, and a few SPS.

Thanks,
Brad

some people raise the light to about 10 inches and every two days lower it an inch or so to their desired height. Another way to do it is have the halides on for a few hours per day lengthing the cycle over a week to the full 8-10 hrs.

That's great. Thanks! I think I'll have to try the time adjust method. Will my corals be okay under the PC lights in the mean time? They are two 96 watt actinics. I also have a 12,000K bulb that I could switch out with one of the actinics, but as it stands now, there are the two actinics.

I used screen and eggcrate. I cut a piece of eggcrate to cover the top of the tank and then bought a roll of window screen at HD. I used 2 layers of screen for like 4 days and then peeled 1 off. Then I used 1 layer for another 4 days. Depending on how big the difference in light you may want to do 3 layers of screen.

hmmmmm......that's interesting. I might look into something like that.

Thanks,
Brad

I went from PC to Halides without any adjusting and all my corals are doing great never had a problem with any of them. Just my 2 cents...

i went from 350W to no light for 4 days then to 984W with absolutely no acclimation, not even as to shorten the photoperiod. what I get? All my corals are getting a florscent pigment to deal with the massive amount of UV, and it grows alot quicker.

Wow. I thought I would absolutely have to acclimate my corals to the light, but I guess not.

Thanks guys!