My new skimmer

jsmith0193

Reaction score
I have been running a H&S A150 on my 125 since I started it 18 months ago and have been very pleased with the performance. Since the H&S filled the cup with coffee color skimate every 48-72 hours, why did I decide to switch skimmers? Not sure, guess it was an urge to change something about the aquarium - it had been a while since I had added a new piece of equipment. After considering a larger needlewheel, I ran across some threads on the Elos NS skimmers and after speaking with Jesse at Elos USA decided to give the NS1000 a shot.

The skimmer arrived on saturday but I did not have a chance to look at it until yesterday. The first thing that struck me when viewing the skimmer was the size - the skimmer is only ~20" high with cup, my H&S is ~30" high. So far I am pleased with how it is performing - the second attachment shows what it collected in 18 hours. I have already ordered the larger collection cup and think I am definately going to need it.

Everything I have purchased from Elos so far has been great quality - I love their test kits. Hopefully one of the local stores with start carrying the line.
<fieldset class="gc-fieldset">
<legend> Attached files </legend>
33909=2039-142669484-M.jpg
>
33909=2039-142669484-M.jpg
class="gc-images" title="142669484-M.jpg[/IMG] style="max-width:300px" /></a>
33909=2038-142669499-M.jpg
>
33909=2038-142669499-M.jpg
class="gc-images" title="142669499-M.jpg[/IMG] style="max-width:300px" /></a> </fieldset>

mmmmm, looks yummy :) Skimmer looks great, hope it continuese to perform as you want it to.

does this use an Eheim needlewheel pump? It's hard to tell from the picture, but is the output of the pump at the very top of the skimmer? I'd love to hear more about the theory behind these and what's different about them... why is it called a "natural" skimmer?