Need advice on moving my tank and upgrading.

23cnhit

Market
Reaction score
As some know, I am still fairly new at this hobby. Right now I have a 42 gallon Bowfront with HOB everything. It has a stand. I just got a 90 gallon tank with sump, stand and canopy. I need to move my existing tank and put the new one in it's place. It is the only spot I can put it. I have fish, coral and inverts.

How long do I need to wait once the new tank is up and running before I relocate all the livestock? Can I just use the water from the existing tank to help facilitate the process?

My plan is to drain the existing tank into a Brute trash can and relocate all the livestock and rock into it. Then move the old tank to a not so permanent location. and reintroducing the livestock and old water back into the old tank until the new one is ready.

Does that sound ok? Or am I doing it all wrong? An advice is helpful Thank

I'm on the same path. I have a 4 month 60 with hang on the back everything. Just got a 90 that I'm still getting the equiptment for. I'm going to set up two 20 gallon long in my basement for a temp place to put fish on 1 and corals on the other while the 90 cycles.
The reason I'm using 2 different tanks is that I want to be able to use 1 fornthe coral and since I'm overcoming ich was thinking about possibly copper dosing the fish.

Sent from my SM-G925T using Tapatalk

Here's what I did... it worked out for me, zero fish or coral lost
-move all livestock into brute can, add heater, air pump, circ pump
-tear down old tank, set up new tank, match water (salinity & heat)
-move corals & live rock over
-acclimate fish, then move them over

just that simple, however I did have to borrow some brute cans from a member

It's okay for the fish to stay in the brute can for 2-3 days, didn't hurt them one bit. I didn't feed nor have lights on for them, other than ambient room light.

its A 46G with everything hang on the back?