Need help with algae growing in a mature reef tank.

90gallon4me

Market
Reaction score
I'm going to try and sum this all up as quick as I can. I have a 110 reef with a 40 gallon sump. I've had a diatom/dino/mainly green hair algae problem for awhile now. I've tried everything and nothing has worked to make it quit growing. I've been doing this for 10 years so we can skip all the obvious queations. Since my problem started I have switched from MH/t5 to led/ t5 (mars aqua), all new t5 bulbs, new rodi 4 stage filters, new sump light for chateo, cut back on feeding alot, added more hermit crabs, added more water flow with a total of 4 powerheads in a 110 tall tank. I suck out the algae, take rocks out, do big water changes, black out the tank for a few days and nothing has worked. I'm currently trying bacter clean M but haven't noticed a difference yet. My skimmer is small for my setup but don't think that's an issue because I do alot of water changes with 0tds water. My phosphates and nitrate do not register when I do my water testing. Literally NOTHING has worked! I'm reaching out in hope that someone can save me from getting out of the hobby. I'm tired of brushing off all my live rock weekly just for it to get covered a week later. Is there any products worth a crap? Please, someone help me. Thanks kevin