Need help with lighting...

john m_ lundberg

Market
Reaction score
On my 30g tank, (I'm completely new to saltwater, well I had a 20g with just sand, rock and nemo...nothing else...so this whole coral and reef stuff is new to me!)...I have a Coralife light. It has 2 switches on the back, 1 switch on a power cord for the moonlight...my tank now is really blue when the light is on. But I noticed on the light fixture there is a slot for another bulb...is that for a daylight bulb? Or is the blue one a daylight bulb?

I don't even know what kind of light this is or even where to begin looking because I don't know the model number. I bought 2 years ago and have lost the box. In the inside of the light there is a little box/transformer that says bulb type is pl96w...does that mean its 96 watts? And there is some tech specs about a pins 1.2.3.4...does that mean 4 pin bulbs? I am so lost and have no clue!!! :confused2:

Again...

1. I have a blue light in there now. Is that consider daylight, sunlight, just light?

2. Do I need a daylight or whatever the other would be? If so, what I am looking for?

3. What is the timing on these lights? I noticed when the lights are off, that little Kenya tree (my first live animal/plant) shrivels up and only full blooms when the light is on...so should a light be on at all times?

4. Do you all use timers for these lights?

Sorry so much...but I want to do this right...

You need a 10K bulb, what you have is an Actinic in there now. Ideally, the actinic bulbs come on before the 10k bulb, and scheduled to turn off after the 10K bulb

Probably 96 what if the fixture is for a 30g Long tank. Pins on the bulbs are all four pin, either

straight ....

or

square : :

It is a square pin...so how long should the blue be on before the other? And what about the moon light?

What should a typical day look life?