Need lighting help

atlcpa

Market
Reaction score
I'm a noob working on my first saltwater tank. I've researched it to death, bought a used stand, canopy and 55 gallon tank that all need some rehab work. I'm going to post a build thread soon.

Anyhoo, one of the several things I'm having some difficulty with is the lighting situation. I have zero lighting as of right now.

Can I buy a basic T5 lighting hood with fairly basic bulbs and upgrade them later? I don't really want to come right out of the gates with a $800 lighting setup, but I would like the option of significant bulb upgrades later if I get going with some corals. I'm starting with fish, but figure I'll go down the coral route eventually if I make it that far. In the wine business they say you can't make good wine with bad grapes. Is it the same with lighting?

Same question really for LED.

Yes and no

They have some leds for fish only that are cheap, but there is several economical options for leds that grow corals as well.

Here's a list I've made for fellow reefers of bottom to top. (Since this list there have been new releases and this consist of one's I've used personally to grow all kinds of corals)

Standard black box led (usually found on ebay) (blue and white only) Cheap, dimmable, down side is they weaken after about 9 months

Mars Aqua Led (found on ebay and Amazon) price varies from 89-129 dimmable, cheap, full spectrum, descent par for first year.

Ocean revive
Price 129-179
Full spectrum, dimmable and control able just didn't like the spread

Reef Breeders Value fixtures, full spectrum, great par, great customer service, descent price

AI sols more control, great colors (didn't run long enough to know coral growth) a little pricey

Reef Breeders photon series
Great growth, colors, user friendly, controller, great customer service price 349-599?

Radion Mac daddy, deep pockets lights 😉 great control but just to pricey for my blood

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk