New build advice

bberman

Market
Reaction score
Hey fellow Arc members I wanted to get some opinions on a new build I am doing. I am very new to the hobby.

I am doing a 190 gal tank and need to pick out some of my hardware. The tank is going to mostly be an fowlr but I will prob put a very few small frags in the tank for a little color.

I have a new apex system on order and have 4 AI hydra 26 hd already. I am going to use the vectors L1 return pump. That is about all I have picked out. Here is what I am considering
1) Sump- either one of the trigger emerald series or a biotek marine. I called them and they said they can even do a custom blend of the features I like from both. 40 inches wide with either 2 7in socks or 3 4in socks. Small Refugium section and larger skimmer and reactor section with a bubble trap and return. Are there any pros to the 7in socks vs 4in socks?

2) NYOS QUANTUM 220 - had really good reviews anyone ever use it? Pros cons?

3) I need some advice on carbon and gfo reactor that I will install on the return manifold i was looking at the brs deluxe reactors but saw mixed reviews - anyone use the biotek marine ones? Suggestions?

4) I also was thinking of adding a uv but was not sure what brands or size to look at.

Thanks

I like 7 inch socks because I can get my hand in them to pick stuff out. I think the biotek reactors would serve you well. I use avast reactors. Mr5 is what I use.

2 and 4 someone else can chime in. Welcome to ARC.

The M1 will be more than enough. I have an M1 on a 180 that feeds the display tanm, manifold and frag tank and only run it about 75%

bberman;1089278 wrote: Hey fellow Arc members I wanted to get some opinions on a new build I am doing. I am very new to the hobby.

I am doing a 190 gal tank and need to pick out some of my hardware. The tank is going to mostly be an fowlr but I will prob put a very few small frags in the tank for a little color.