New DIY Skimmer

down and outman

Market
Reaction score
Finally got my new recirculating skimmer going. Got that CSS65 outa there. Not a bad skimmer, just not enough for my tank. Keep it for a spare or another small tank or QT.
Skimmer:
104_6298.jpg
alt="" />
Refugium using a 5 gal aquarium:
104_6299.jpg
alt="" />
Whole sump:
104_6300.jpg
alt="" />

I like your rubbermaid sump, works just as well and sure is alot cheaper , and congrats on your skimmer

Octopus NW3000 pump:
104_6301.jpg
alt="" />
Bubbles:
104_6302.jpg
alt="" />
Electronics center, yes it has a cover and the wires all hang down, Finally!
104_6304.jpg
alt="" />

I must have the only powercenter that was made right. Been running for a year. No I didn't take pics of the build. The bottom section I found. Built the top. got the acrylic at
a>. They sell it in 1' and 2' sections, not 10'. Drilled holes with holesaws and used Uniseals. I studied euroreef, ASM and Octopus skimmers for ideas.

Skimmer looks good, but only thing I'd change, if you end up doing so is the part going to the neck. Can't say I've ever seen a truly effective skimmer with a flat section leading to the neck.

The whole order cost $26.98 for 1' x 6" and 1' x 3". Not bad.
As far as the flat top, it does create large bubbles which I think interferes with the skimming. I saw a thread where a guy made a jig to form it into more of a funnel. May try that. I looked all over Home Depot, and everywhere I could, to find a funnel shaped fitting. Nothing in this one horse town. Got some acrylic left over. Will try to mod it and see what I come up with. However, my tank is a lot clearer now with it running the way it is. That's a good thing.

Awesome, can;t wait to see what you come up with....the smoother the transition to the neck form the body the better. But that aside, it looks awesome!