New Rockwork

dball711

Supporting
Reaction score
So I got a great deal on some Pukani rock the other day and decided to replace one of the rocks in my 75. The rockwork originally consisted of 4 rocks, a large one, a much larger one (40+ lbs) and two small chunks. Knowing that our next meeting was going to be about AquaScaping with Dr. Paul Whitby I thought I might pick up some pointers. Or would I, I mean what was he going to teach me about piling up rocks in my tank. I had been doing this for 30 years, 40 if you count my early days of freshwater tanks.

So after a quick google of the Dr. and reading a few of his articles, I couldn’t believe the science that went into his aquascapes. I was floored by the tanks and examples I saw. So much so that I couldn’t wait to get started and that was last night. I couldn’t believe the journey I was on and couldn’t stop working till about 2:00AM.

Lets start at the beginning, here are a couple of pictures from when I set up the tank a little over a year ago. It was ok but it just didn’t jump out and say WOW look at me!
<fieldset class="gc-fieldset">
<legend> Attached files </legend>
1017019=59739-IMG_2918.jpg
>
1017019=59739-IMG_2918.jpg
class="gc-images" title="IMG_2918.jpg[/IMG] style="max-width:300px" /></a>
1017019=59740-IMG_7013.jpg
>
1017019=59740-IMG_7013.jpg
class="gc-images" title="IMG_7013.jpg[/IMG] style="max-width:300px" /></a> </fieldset>

Here is a picture of what it looked like after I added an outcropping to the top left of the main rock in the tank. I was only getting started.
1017020=59741-IMG_1137.jpg
>
1017020=59741-IMG_1137.jpg
class="gc-images" title="IMG_1137.jpg[/IMG] style="max-width:300px" /></a> </fieldset>

Finally here is the end result, just wanted to share. I can’t wait till the March 7th meeting to see what else I can learn.
1017023=59742-IMG_1155.jpg
>
1017023=59742-IMG_1155.jpg
class="gc-images" title="IMG_1155.jpg[/IMG] style="max-width:300px" /></a>
1017023=59744-IMG_1156.jpg
>