New to reefing - starting with a nano- any input is helpful!

kels13m

Reaction score
I know that this runs against the majority of the advice on the internet, but I can only fit a 20 gallon in my apartment at the moment, so that's what I'm going with. I've already got four planted freshwater tanks set up around the place and they have been running successfully for the last 3 years, so while I AM new to reef keeping, I am not a stranger to tank maintenance in the long term.

That being said... I've done quite a  bit of research and at this point only have the tank- getting lights and some other components this weekend and planning on getting fully going in the next month, but I thought I'd ask some questions from those with experience-

What was the most challenging/unexpected part of keeping a nano reef?

What types of salt would you recommend for a newb? - interested in keeping a variety of coral but not specifically needing any one type if it wont work. Also taking into consideration budget and ease of maintenance over time.

Diseases/illness in reef tanks- I haven't seen much about this on the net generally, but what should I be on the lookout for?

Coral affordability/color- I've noticed that a lot of casual hobbyists keep corals that are dull or brownish in color- is this what the majority of corals look like (and have I been brainwashed by disney to think the oceans are full of color??) or are these keepers doing something wrong? Also- where do you find affordable/beautiful corals- better in trades or at LFS?

Interesting stocking ideas for a 20 gal? I'm not attached to any particular type of fish or inverts, but I like keeping quirky stuff in my FW tanks (puffers, shrimp, gobies) what would be happy and interesting for a nano reef setup?

Also any general pointers are also welcome, as related to reef keeping generally or nano tanks specifically.

Thanks guys!