nitrates

wmboots

Market
Reaction score
I made mention a couple weeks ago about the battle I had with nitrates and finally had them down to 5. Well now I'm about frustrated noticed red algae growing in the sand again last evening so checked nitrates and they are back up to 20.
I have been battling this problem for several months now ever since I had an ultra violet filter short out and make my system live with electircal current. I did my last water change 2 weeks ago when I did a back to back 70% and 30% changes which finally got things straightend out or so I thought.
<span style="color: red;">Anyone have any ideas as to what is going on, I have checked for anything dead in my system and find nothing. </span>
A little background of my reef system I have a 90 gal tank, 20 gal sump/refugium, 100lbs live rock, 20lbs sand in tank and sump has mud,10lbs sand,15-20lbs live rock frags. Have run this system for several years with 0 nitrates and everything was beautiful until the ultra violet filter episode.

What kind of water are you using Tap, RO/DI? Have you check the nitrates of the water you are adding to the tank?

Also, do you run carbon or Purigen or another filter media? If so, are you changing it regularly.

Finally, do you have bioballs or other biological media other than Live Rock?

Thanks,
Tim

using RO/DI water checks at 0, using instant ocean, have bio balls in final stage before gets to pump. Do not use carbon have a bag of Kent nitrogen sponge placed so water will pass thru before it gets to mud,sand,rock section of sump. As for inhabitants poweder blue tang, sailfin tang, yellow wrasse, 2 true percula, half dozen recordia some about 1 1/2 size of silver dollars, small green zon frag.
Nothing that I find to be a problem, all fish have been in system for at least 3 years sailfin, clowns and powder have been with me for over 5 years.