Noisy Pump Question?

budsreef

Market
Reaction score
I bought a used Iwaki WMD 40RLXT to use with my RO/DI set up and turned it on the other night for the first time. It has not been used for several months prior to now. When I turned it on it made a very loud screaming noise as it started up, but then it turned quiet. I tried several times turning it off and then back on and it made the noise each time. Is this normal? If I take the front cover off to make sure there is no obstruction will I be able to put it back together without it leaking? Any help here would be appreciated.

Barbara;200456 wrote: Seems strange to me, although I have very little experience. I also purchased a used one; a 55(don't remember the letters, but it's a pressure rated pump). Anyway, it's quiet as a mouse on start up. My guess is that your pump either needs cleaning, or might not be put together right. Can you take it apart, check the assemby and put it back together?

Thanks Barbara, that's what I'll do. I'm just a little worried that since it hasn't been run for so long the seal may not be good when I put it back together. Luckily, I'm just going to use it to move RO/DI and new saltwater to the sump so it isn't critical if I have it off line for a bit.

Sounds like a potential bearing or calcium buildup problem. I had an issue with my blueline pump when I bought it. I pulled the pump apart, cleaned all the buildup off and replaced the bearings and it works great now. I also replaced the o-ring as well since the old one was pretty worn. I know it's not the exact same pump but it shouldn't be too hard to pull apart and put back together, just a few screws.