Noob Lighting

freddy4130

Market
Reaction score
K. Since i am a total noob I need some answers here. All I get is acronyms and abbreviated terms when it comes to people's descriptions of lights. Can someone point me in the direction of a good breakdown (with pics possibly) of all the different lighting mess?

Is it possible to use some standard lamp housings as your lighting if you replace the bulbs? Do you have to replace the lamp's "innards?" What exactly is the ballast of the light? Do all lights have ballasts or just ones that are super duper reef lights? Are some of the super duper reef lights compatible with regular old lighting fixtures?

BTW, I am totally a noob.

PC.....power compact lighting, cheaper and these you can keep pretty much all soft and low light corals.

T5....T5 is actually the type of bulb if you get a T5 set up you want each bulb to have its own reflector(metal plate around the bulb reflecting all of the light from the bulb down into the tank)

MH....Metal Halides im not too familiar with these because i have never really worked with them but im sure you can go google Metal Halide reef lighting and you should get a decent article

hopefully now you have enough info to google the names and types of the lighting. What type of corals are your trying to keep in your tank?

To answer the second part of your question.... No, No and no. You can not use "normal" fixtures for reef lighting. A ballast is a high wattage "box" that takes the current from your wall outlet and turns it into something the lights can use. They are pretty specific to what type of lighting you are going to use and what wattage. As Tyler suggested, you need to know what you want your end result of your reef to be before you can decide on lighting. Do you want to have corals? If so, what type? Do you like your light color to be white or more blue? How much do you want to spend? What size tank is this going over?