Perpetual newbie here in need of a mentor

thewarbrd

Market
Reaction score
I'm at my wits end after endless battles with 'the unknown demon' and it's time to admit I need a mentor because everything I'm reading both here and elsewhere like wetweb isn't helping. I'm getting to the point that I'm almost ready to just call it quits on corals and go FOWLR because all I'm doing is killing things and throwing money down the drain and making me hate my tank vs enjoy it. :(

So here's my tanks life story for anyone that would like to offer a new direction for me.

I've had my 75RR+30sump going on a year now. I run 2 maxijet 1200s with sureflow mods and an oceanrunner 3500 for a return. Chaeto in the sump as well as a skimmer. 10% water change weekly, the water mixes 1-2 days in a separate 10g tank with power head and airstone. Topoff and change water is RO/DI that is tested at 000 with a hannah meter.

150lbs live rock, 100lbs of sand (fairly deep bed as baserock is on the bottom glass, I'd venture 4-5 inches across the front of the tank and 2-4 behind the rock. CUC is a fleet of nassarius snails, cerith snails (population seems to be dying off too), and 8 or so astrea snails on hair algae patrol.

I started off with instant ocean salt and was having reasonably good success and growth but low parms. I posted growth pics in my build thread back in March (updated attached below). I switched to seachem reef salt around then and now and 3 months later even though my parms are testing better than they ever did, everything, and I mean everything is going backwards. All my zoos are shrinking and never fully open and extend, my shrooms are literally smaller than the average zoo, my yellow polyps have stumps for fingers instead of the long flowing ones they had a few months ago. Large beautiful colonies I've bought have either wasted completly away or are headed that direction as they almost never fully open anymore for no visible reason.