Plumbing question

Froster92

Supporting
Reaction score
So we picked up the 180 gal today. I’m trying to mentally plan for plumbing. The tank has two overflows with 2 holes in each over flow. One is 1 1/2” and one is 1 3/4” from what I’m told. Got a bunch of questions though.

#1 how do I measure these holes to make sure those are correct numbers?
#2 when buying bulk heads does the size match the hole size or do I need a size smaller because it goes inside that hole?
#3 when plumbing these hole I assume the bulkhead has a fixed size of piping that fits inside the bulkhead, right?
#4 how do I determine to the correct gph that is draining from the tank so that I can select a return pump?
#5 I see a lot of people use a bean or her or overflow setup, that’s not possible with just 2 holes right?

Sorry if these questions seems basic or dumb, I’ve never done this before and don’t have any plumbing experience.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reefdudes gives a good basic explanation of plumbing:
Here is another basic explanation of plumbing:

If there are two holes in each overflow, it was probably set up as a durso on each side, with returns in each side. But you can change to herbie style, etc... a bean animal uses three holes and you would need to determine glass type and if you could drill. But there are lots of experienced reefers here on the ARC board that could help guide you. There are lots of ways to plumb- you could have many different setups that would work. You just need to figure out which one you want to use to approach the plumbing of this reef tank.

I used herbie drains on my pre-drilled tank and you can do the same. It can be dialed into being near silent and safe. I’d use one hole on each side as a return, one hole as the emergency and the other as the main drain.

Reefdudes gives a good basic explanation of plumbing:
Here is another basic explanation of plumbing: