Potential Pest ID

Seraphimas

Market
Reaction score
Hi, I'm Ashlie and I'm new to both saltwater and the forums. I wasn't 100% sure where to post this question but I hope this is the place. I recently obtained a frag of zoas and I'm afraid I picked up a tiny Aiptasia with it. I can't be certain because it's absolutely tiny but I was hoping some of you might have enough experience with them to ID it even though it's so small. Assuming it -is- Aiptasia, I'm guessing I should just break that part of the rock off the frag and hope for the best? If there is a better way please advise :) Thanks for your time!20190412_145134[1].jpg20190413_185403[1].jpg

Yes aptasia for sure. Welcome to arc.

Take it out of the water and remove the plug. The aptasia is connected to the rock most likely in the oil space there. Remove a chunk of the rock where it's at.

I took the rubble off the plug, broke off a small section and then placed back on my rack. Within about 15 minutes the Aiptasia had crept back out. I removed it again and broke off a much larger section and scrubbed the broken area. No signs of a repeat performance so hopefully I got it. I'd really hate to have those all over my tank.

Thanks again for the quick response!

A situation like this really calls for some RedSea AptasiaX. Great stuff. You could make kalkwasser paste but I always use the AptatiaX when I'm engaging the enemy in close proximity to things I want to keep.