Proper Bulkhead size??

cment

Market
Reaction score
I can use a little help here, this is my first time plumbing a tank and I need to purchase the correct size bulkheads and dont know the proper size to get. The drain hole measures 1 3/4" and the return is 1 1/4". I have the original bulkheads but want to swap them out for schedule 80 and also a double threaded for the return so i can add so loc line...

You may be out of luck going to schedule 80 if your bulkhead holes are glass and pre-drilled. Like coop said the required holes are larger for sch 80 in the same size. You shouldn't need sch 80 for a normal application, and the 1" drain and 3/4" return size is normal.

If your holes are acrylic or another plastic, you can enlarge them with a Dremel with a sanding wheel.

it is an acrylic frag tank but I dont feel comfortable with enlarging the holes myself... I guess I will just stay with the original bulkheads then. I did originally take the bulkheads to Home Depot to find plumbing parts but nothing would properly attach to the male threaded ends. Any ideas of what I am doing wrong?

cment;960619 wrote: it is an acrylic frag tank but I dont feel comfortable with enlarging the holes myself... I guess I will just stay with the original bulkheads then. I did originally take the bulkheads to Home Depot to find plumbing parts but nothing would properly attach to the male threaded ends. Any ideas of what I am doing wrong?

if I understand you correctly outside threads on the bulkhead are for the lock ring.. you will glue a pipe or a fitting to the inside of the bulkhead

yes the threaded part of the bulkhead which is not in the tank, i thought i could just find a female PVC elbow that would screw into the bulkhead which would allow me to add my plumbing...

You can enlarge bulkhead holes in acrylic with a hole saw depending on your skill level with that.