Quarantine Tank Lighting for Corals?

maveri9720

Market
Reaction score
Hi all, I just received my first coral and I have it in my QT. It's a big brown toadstool leather. I checked the lighting I have in the tank and it is a 50/50 Coralife and only 20w.

Will this coral be alright for a week or a few days, until I can get my canopy finished, somtime late next week?

Right now, I have the light on 8hrs from 12pm - 8pm. It looks alright, but this is my first coral too, so I have little experience knowing healthy corals from ones with problems.

Thanks.

youre supose to have medium to high light for this coral, it has zooxanthellae algae hosting within its body and this supplies it with most of its nutrition. If the light is on 20W I'ld say there is a good chance of the coral not surviving, or if it will, it'll be in poor shape.

QT is a great thing, but if you are worried about it and don't have the proper equitment, then I wouldn't worry too much about it. I just do a fresh water dip with flatworm exit and a little iodine. This has worked pretty good for me and it gets rid of most inverts in the process (flatworms, etc.)

I know that method won't work for redbugs on SPS though. That requires a bit more work.

-Andy

I would either go to home depot and set up something like this:
a> for about $15 bucks. (Should work if you get the "Daylight" version of a bulb since they do not have Temps on the box anymore.)  Maybe someone has a small PC light you can borrow for a week. I have a 48" laying around that you can borrow, you would just have to set it up on a tank and rig it to work.