Question - ReefKeeper Lite Controller / Dosing Pump

ben

Reaction score
I recently purchased a reefkeeper lite controller with two dosing pumps. One of the pumps is supposed to be the "master", and the other is the "slave." The master shipped with a 6v power adapter and a bus cable. The slave was just the pump.

I'm new to the ReefKeeper, but from what I can tell, everything is supposed to daisy chain together using the bus cables. I assume this is the case for the pumps too. The problem is, even though I bought a master and slave pump, I only have one bus cable. This means I can only attach one of the pumps to the controller.

So, am I missing something or do I just need an extra bus cable?

FredFish;1085454 wrote: you will need another bus cable

Thanks! I thought that was the case. I was unsure since they did not ship enough cables to accomplish this. I was able to make a bus cable with some cat5 and rj11 connectors. It's working like a champ now.

Great!..... Are you going to be using the RKL for dosing only? Or will you be adding more modules?

FredFish;1085529 wrote: Great!..... Are you going to be using the RKL for dosing only? Or will you be adding more modules?

I've got the power bar and I've ordered the lab module to measure Ph and Salinity. I plan on using it to control my heater and power heads, as well as dosing. I'm excited to have all of these tasks automated now, but I'm a little disappointed that the RKL can only be expanded to four modules. I'm kind of wishing I'd sprung for the elite now.

With the RKL being maxed out with 4 modules I felt the same...... And I have been using it for about 8 years now. I use the BRS dosing pumps and they have worked great....... Curious to know how the DA dosing pumps work for you?