Questions about moving a tank

00Dan

Supporting
Reaction score
I plan to move my Nuvo 40 soon and wanted some input on my plan.

I plan to drain the tank into 5 gallon buckets and begin breaking down the rock work into said buckets; inverts and some coral take a ride with the rocks. The fish I will catch and put in a single bucket once the rocks are out (2 clowns, a royal gramma, and a flametail blenny).
At this point the tank will be mostly empty with just sand and equipment left. I’m debating on if I should scoop out the sand or leave it in the tank. Thoughts?

Any additional factors I should consider? This is my first time breaking down a tank with livestock in it and putting it back together in short order; admittedly the decisions don’t matter as much when there isn’t anything living inside.

How long has the sand been in there? If it‘s more than a year old, I’d take it as an opportunity to change it out. A shop Vac works great for removing the old stuff. Also, not sure how far you’re moving, but I’d suggest a cooler for the corals, inverts and fish. That’s the route I’ve always gone and haven’t lost anything. I fill the cooler about 1/3 to 1/2 full with tank water. Put the fish and inverts in. Then bag each coral individually in ziplocs with water and float them in the cooler. I’ve had good luck with my cube cooler that has an extendable handle and wheels. Makes moving it easier.