Reef lighting

wake125122

Market
Reaction score
Hello everyone I am trying to get some advice on lighting on my set up that I am currently setting up. I've never done a reef tank before (I've had several FOWLR set up though) so I am still learning a lot on this so forgive me if some of this stuff seams very basic. I plan to start with mostly soft corals. Here is what I have though. I am trying to figure out how much light I need to provide my corals with. (time wise) I have a Marineland duel set up. It has 4 T5 54w bulbs, 2 150w 14K HQI, and 4 1w luner LED. Is their a general rule of thumb or something? I have been trying to do a lot of research but everything I seem to find is way over my head and like I said I am still new to the hobby so I am still trying to learn everything. Any advise or point the the right direction would greatly be appreciated!

That's a decent amount of light. It will have no issues being enough for a softie tank. Your corals only NEED around 4-5 hours of light since their "photo-period" only lasts 4 hours anyway. I wouldn't exceed 8 hours until the tank is established. And, if you want a longer light period, to ramp up the time slowly. Take about 1 month for every hour of more light you want. (Best to break it up to 15 minutes each week.)

Thank you! I eventually I want to move up to some SPS. Think that would be a problem with the type of lighting I have?

That would be good for SPS in the areas under the halides, but depending on how it is distributed, you might have some lower light areas that wouldn't do as well. But, those areas would be good for softies, so you could certainly have a mix.

So avoid softies directly under the Halides, good to know thanks! Is their a thread about proper placement for things like that? I guess I am not using the correct verbiage to find things -_-