Reverse Osmosis??

georgiasunflower

Market
Reaction score
OK I am relatively new here so if it has been discussed to death please be kind and just refer me to the correct thread...

I am very confused about what R/O is and why it is necessary. I have a degree in computer science so I am not a complete idiot. But I am certainly no chemistry major so please - have pity on me. Can anyone explain this in laymen's terms???

r/o is reverse osmsis(i think correct spelling). it is not necessary in my opionion for tanks that are not reefs, with the exception of delicate fish.

ro take the impurites out of water and makes it pure. that is as simple as it gets.

IMO it is necessary, basically takes all the impurities out if tap water.

Definitely a must, its the first step to getting and keeping phosphates at 0. There are so many things added to drinking water that humans need that are not needed or wanted in a reef environment. Not using R/O is the first mistake alot of new tank owners make!

If you have a publix near your house you can get it for like 25 cents a gallon, not bad and a lot less hassle to me. Just have to make sure they change the media :)

sending pm to navyreefer because i do not want to start arguing in public but want to get my reasoning through.

Reverse Osmosis, is a purification process that can actually get TDS (total desolved solids) down to zero.

However, I confess I use regular tap water ran through a carbon/floss water purifier (which gives me a reliable 80 TDS). I also have a mixed reef (fish, softies, some sps, lps, clam, sponge, anemone), and have done this for quite sometime with positive results.

Because of my tank's location (my sunroom) I fight a once annual hair algae problem at the height of winter when my tank gets 6 hours of natural sunlight a day (I've armed myself with an arsonal of information this past year, and am ready to battle my returning nemesis). Other than that, my tank is beautifully pristine 11 months out of the year.