RO/DI Maintenance...

texhorns98

Market
Reaction score
Outside of keeping any eye on the TDS meter, eventually changing membrane, etc. What else does one need to do to maintain the RO//DI unit? I hear of flushing membranes, etc. But I've never done it before.

I backflush my unit every so often. Other than that, I change the prefilters. Nothing more to it.

You could add a dab of bleach and run it through the unit, but it's not necessary.

Skriz;349609 wrote: I backflush my unit every so often. Other than that, I change the prefilters. Nothing more to it.

You could add a dab of bleach and run it through the unit, but it's not necessary.

How does one back flush the unit?

mine has a backflush valve on it and you just turn the valve and turn it on and water only comes out the waste side

Hmmm...any purewaterclub users out there know if they have backflush valves? I'll have to inspect when I get home!

ares;349765 wrote: it should be on the waste water line... if it has one

Wouldn't you have to close off the valve to your good water line as well? I would check my "instructions" but they are garbage!

pm onedummhikk with a link to the thread...id like to know too

Here ya go...watch the video and it explains everything......
a>

dv3;349908 wrote: pm onedummhikk with a link to the thread...id like to know too

Like to know what? RO/DI maintenance or how the bypass setup works?

Remind me to teach you how to send a PM though :)

i was wondering if a back flush is done and if it is nessecary? ....also what if you put shut off valves before and after the the membranes to keep it under pressure ...would that preserve the membrane longer?

...lol i know how to pm for some reason i always use the vistor message on here

dv3;351121 wrote: i was wondering if a back flush is done and if it is nessecary?

Can an RO/DI system exist and operate properly without being flushed? Yes. The difference is in membrane lifespan.