Rock Nems at Petco

Gdel

Supporting
Reaction score
Hi there, my local PetCo has some rock nems that look cool. I’ve had some bad experiences with petco...fish not making it and some of their livestock look sick. Would the nems be something I should avoid since we really can’t treat them for anything? I don’t have a QT tank where I could keep them right now. I thought about buying a couple and then just doing a couple water changes in their container before transferring over to my DT. Any thought or advice? Would I be a fool to purchase?

Hi there, my local PetCo has some rock nems that look cool. I’ve had some bad experiences with petco...fish not making it and some of their livestock look sick. Would the nems be something I should avoid since we really can’t treat them for anything? I don’t have a QT tank where I could keep them right now. I thought about buying a couple and then just doing a couple water changes in their container before transferring over to my DT. Any thought or advice? Would I be a fool to purchase?
The nems themselves won't be carrying anything. I'd be more worried if they attach to any substrate or anything. Maybe put it in a QT tank for a few days to get it to drop anything stuck to its foot then move to your display?

Which petco did you find selling corals? I know one in the area that sells saltwater fish but never seen corals there.

Also for the nems as @civics14 said they dont really cary anything. Rock flower nems are super hardy and a super cool addition to any tank. Good luck

That's not entirely true. I've seen some petcos with equal if not better looking coral than a lot of typical fish stores.

the problem is ultimately no two petcos are equal. Some are good, few are great and most are just trash.