rodi mixing tank

kevinathom

Market
Reaction score
I am still new at this hobby but found a RODI unit, but no mixing tanks. I have a 65 gal system and change out 10 gallons a week, so I'm thinking I'll need to mix 10 gallons at a time and each week. Now the question: does anyone have any creative ideas as to what to use for a mixing and holding "tank" for the RODI water? I assume I need two tanks about 15 gallons in size: one for the RODI water and one for mixing. I thought about using a coleman cooler, but there are probably better ideas. I am thinking that the type of plastic is important too, and I've been looking for PETE 2. Am I on the right track and any additional thoughts?

My RODI water goes into a 33 gallon brute trash can and I mix in a 44 gallon brute. Both on furniture dollies should I need to move them. I always need more RODI water then my 15 gallons per 2 weeks as you need water for ATO etc. The 44g is also for emergencies should I need to drain my 60g I have it and another 20g on stand by. Always be prepared!

This is what I finally set up to do my mixing and holding.

http://www.atlantareefclub.org/forums/picture.php?albumid=373&pictureid=2737" alt="" />

There are two, 30 gallon tanks. The top one holds fresh RO/DI and dumps into the one below when needed.

I normally mix 30 gallons of saltwater every two weeks.
That's more than enough for my 66, 29 and 50 gallon tanks.

kevinathom;1007859 wrote: That's a nice set up. Where did you find the containers?

Thanks. I noticed that the photo above was taken before it was completed.
It's been in place and for several months now. Works just as desired.

http://www.atlantareefclub.org/forums/picture.php?albumid=373&pictureid=2931" alt="" />

The containers can be had from a number of places. Northern Tool, Tractor Supply, ect...
I got mine from a ARC member that was stepping away.