Scented candles near the reef, yea or ney ?

Tanster2

Market
Reaction score
I love burning candles. I have refrained in my living room where my tank is. What is your take on this?

I don't use anything scented or aerosol ever. Too much to risk it. Candles *might* be okay. But personally, I wouldn't. If I were to, I'd make sure they're natural essential oil candles and not the mass market chemical candles, and burn them for a bit and see if I see any changes. Constantly keep an eye on the tank.

Well now that you've got me thinking about it, maybe I shouldn't burn them close. Of course I've done it for years and years and have a fireplace in the same room. I don't burn them much in the warmer time of year but quite a lot when it gets cooler outside. Everything said thus far is true and I'm no expert (at all) but I haven't had any issues.

You might want to put a GAC filter inline with your skimmer’s air intake.

Otherwise, you are injecting whatever is in the air into your tank’s water.

You might want to put a GAC filter inline with your skimmer’s air intake.

Otherwise, you are injecting whatever is in the air into your tank’s water.
This intrigued me! My wife constantly burns candles and sprays aerosols and i tell her keep it away from my fish room but its never far enough away ! @ichthyoid you tell me how to set this up? I never heard of this and would love to implement it. Maybe show a pic or link? Thx!

This intrigued me! My wife constantly burns candles and sprays aerosols and i tell her keep it away from my fish room but its never far enough away ! @ichthyoid you tell me how to set this up? I never heard of this and would love to implement it. Maybe show a pic or link? Thx!

Here you go. Just fill the refillable filter canister with an air grade of granulated active carbon. Water grade GAC will work, but is not optimized for purifying air streams. At ~$30 I doubt you’ll find one like this for much less.