Seahorse Care

jballa15

Market
Reaction score
I have been collecting information on seahorses for about 10 months in preparation for a specialty tank. I set up the aquarium sometime in May with live rock/live sand/ and power compact lighting. Partly due to the information from last meeting about replacing sand every four years and partly to increase sand bed, I am going to add about an inch of sand. My question is whether to use a fine sand granule or coarse like my current sand for the seahorses? I also plan to add dead sand and wonder if it will cycle the tank? I will probably use this forum for several other details about seahorse care as I am fast approaching the arrival of the horses. Thanks, John.

I am nowhere near expert on Seahorses but when I had my tank up it did very well....I used LS (aragalive sand) and only about a 1.5 inch sandbed....I am not sure if the size of the grain would make a big difference as far as the seahorses go. I think that is more of an aesthetic issue.

However, I think if ever do another seahorse tank I may go BB. That is something Porter reccomended I do and I didnt but I kind of wish I had. The seahorses eat much, much, much better when the frozen mysis are gently cycling around the tank/feeding station. With a BB tank you can get a small powerhead and shift the flow so it goes out of the bottom of the PH and hits the bottom of the tank. That way any food that falls to the bottom stays moving around and the seahorses will snag the food off the bottom of the tank as it cycles around. Moreover, it becomes much easier to siphon out any uneaten food. I am not a big fan of the BB look but I think for seahorses its the way to go.....

Man i miss my ponies...

BB is a good idea like Jorge said.

also go to seahorse.org if you have not.