SPS issue

atticusfit

Market
Reaction score
I picked up this starry night at the Coral expo few weeks back and has been doing ok. But noticed over the past few days the bottom is turning what looks green. I'm new to SPS so wasn't sure if this is normal because I have seen other corals dying usually turn white. If any one could give some input that would be awesome.

https://goo.gl/photos/H2zgUHzEydhWYbcH7">https://goo.gl/photos/H2zgUHzEydhWYbcH7</a>

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Bcavalli;1116622 wrote: What lighting are you using? Ive seen some of my SPS change color under leds.

2 Radion xr30 over a 72gal bow front.

xilez;1116639 wrote: Looks like RTN that has stopped.. got any better pics?

Sorry newb RTN?
05a255d9ef2f7157d188e6e0abdc2b0d.jpg
alt="" />
e91d975aeae1b8a5764dc849c89d0120.jpg
alt="" />
0c481b2f943a734f83e4543422341252.jpg
alt="" />

That looks like RTN (rapid tissue necrosis) or STN (slow). I don't think its Acro eating flatworms (fingers crossed it not).

A number of things can cause STN, all you can do is try to keep parameters as stable as possible.

xilez;1116653 wrote: That looks like RTN (rapid tissue necrosis) or STN (slow). I don't think its Acro eating flatworms (fingers crossed it not).

A number of things can cause STN, all you can do is try to keep parameters as stable as possible.

Ok should i cut it back?

Was told today that they are supposed to be green not the brown color anyone confirm that?

Where did you get the coral? Did you see the mother colony it was cut from? Judging just what I see in the picture... the acro looks very unhealthy. A few different things can change the color of sps to brown. A change in lighting/ not enough light. Nutrient levels being to high along with high phosphates. We would need to know more about your system to help determine whats going on. The "green" part of the picture is dead. I would guess that it stn then not long was consumed with algae.

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk