transition to a reef

hiimsean

Supporting
Reaction score
a while ago i posted about converting my planted freshwater tank into a saltwater reef tank. i purchased a 36g corner tank, 34x24x22, that i have since planted. its rather boring so i've been researching a lot about reef tanks and setups. the top isn't very helpful for lighting since it has the trim coming in about 6" on both sides. i currently have a 24" 48watt t5 fixture over it for the plants and there are some dark spot in the back of the tank. because of this i was considering a 175w MH setup for a reef tank. the underneath could probably hold a small sump, the opening is about 12" wide and 24" deep, so a 10g or something in that nature would fit. if this setup would be too much of a PITA i've been looking at cubes and similar tanks, 20longs and 29g tanks. im still a noob when it comes to corals and SW fish so im not sure what i'd like to keep yet. i do like zoas and other soft corals.

a few questions i have
1) would the MH be my best bet for lighting? will i see a large increase in my electric bill with a 175w setup or should i stick to t5s?
2) would i need a skimmer. i've read that some smaller tanks do well with a fuge with some LR and LS and some macroalgae.
3) i think a reef would look awesome in the corner tank but would i be better off with something a little more standard?

here's a picture of the tank as of now, you can see the dark space towards the back of the tank.
IMG_2223.jpg
alt="" />

edit: the cabinet space is 10"x16", a little smaller than what i was hoping for

i already want a larger tank but our small apartment has a 125g, 75g, and the 36g :D about as many fish tanks as i can fit in here

Hmmmm... then convert the 75 :) That way you will be satisfied for at least a FEW more days :)

b