Upgrading to a 300

Tjohnson0393

Market
Reaction score
Good day anyone. I have question. I'm transferring my 120 to a 300. How long do i wait for my fish and coral to go in? New water, sand, and the live rock from my 120. All suggestions will help. Thanks in advance. One more thing it will be for sale once transferred. Will post i for sale section when time comes.16317170537017669347439928428735.jpg

if you are using the lr from the old tank to the new tank you should not have a cycle you can probably start adding immediately

I've never done a transfer before, but I would personally add in some Bio Spira or some sort of bacteria in a bottle just to be cautious. I don't think it would ever hurt anything, that's how I actually started my first tank.

When using the same rock and media, no need to wait. Use some bacteria in a bottle like Seed or Microbac7 or any brand you prefer. We change water all the time in our tanks, it is the live rock and biological media with bacteria that is what sustains are systems. However, that said, when moving to a larger system, you will either need more rock or more media to sustain a healthy bacteria population. So, either precycle, add to your current sump, all of the above etc to have enough for your new bigger system.

I would echo the bottled bacteria suggestion. Biospira or Seed are my go to’s. You can cause a mini cycle adding that much clean water volume in my opinion.

Will both systems be setup at the same time? I did water changes from the old to the new and vice versa every day for the first week to ensure at least a low level of nutrients in the new tank before I transferred my fish, rock, and corals into the new tank. May not be necessary.

Yep, just as they said, no real cycle will happen, you are just doing a very large water change. Adding bacteria will be beneficial to the animals.