Very new to the hobby

dylanwright826

Market
Reaction score
Hi all. i apologize in advance for the typos and grammar mess ups hahah. like the title says, im very new to the salt water hobby.ive had fresh water for a while but just recently started a salt water tank. i have lots of questions about it and the little creatures in it.first question is, how long does it normaly take a tank to cycle? its a 55 gallon tank with a diy 20 gallon sump. i have a little over 40 lbs of live sand and 50 lbs of rock. 25 lbs live, 25 lbs base. i used a bottle of bio spira because i was told it would "jump start" the cycle process. so how long should my tank take to cycle?

The cycle time for a new saltwater tank is different for every tank and even each individual with the same tank. It will depend on many factors, including the start up material used. In short it usually takes at least four weeks to safely cycle a saltwater tank but can take much longer. Ammonia in the water is deadly to fish so it's important to test the water multiple times prior to any purchase.

It sounds as if you have used more live than dry start up material so you may not have a cycle at all. The only way to know if your tank is safe for live critters is to test your water with a test kit multiple times through the "Nitrogen Cycle" (Ammonia, nitrate and nitrite's).

You can buy a cheap API test kit (for this type of beginner test) at most pet stores or any LFS (local fish store). Other than testing for a cycle, I do not recommend API to safely give you correct numbers. The remainder of the test should be performed with a quality test kit such as Red Sea or Seachems such type kits that can be found at all the LFS sponsors here at ARC.

Welcome to ARC, glad you found us!
Keep the good questions coming, many experienced reefers will be happy to help you be successful through your journey :)