what are you running in the chambers on your biocube?

mopar9012

Market
Reaction score
Im down sizing to a bio cube 29. I am completely new to these tanks, not the hobby. Anyways, i bought a 29 biocube used, soI have no owners manual. This is the way mine is setup. Chamber 1:heater, filter pad. Chamber two: two small pieces of live rock(more will likely to come) Chamber 3:return pump

This got me thinking. If chamber 1 fills all the way up BUT all I can fit in there is the filter catridge and my heater, Chamber 2 doesnt fill up, Chamber three is supposed to be within those min and max lines, where are you all putting things like a skimmer, heater,etc in these tanks without things being visible.

Bust out the floor in the middle of the first chamber, use that chamber for a skimmer. Chamber two I run Carbon, Phosban, filter floss, and some live rock. Chamber three I have my heater, ATO float switches, and the return.

You can look into a media basket, I made one from egg crate but they sell some nice ones if you google it.

I have the 14 but I removed the floors and put the heater and temp probe in chamber 1. chamber 2 I have the intank media basket with floss on first tier, 2nd chemi pure elite carbon, 3rd I have some cheto with an underwater light. Chamber 3 I have some purigen and replaced the return pum with a pico 1200. Ive Been debating on taking out the purigen but we will see, I like having overkill!..lol

For sure remove the bio balls and clean the sponges at least once a week or remove them altogether because they end up being a nitrate factory over time.

before I go busting floors, do I need to do anything special to get these out? or just get something to jam it with and go jam it? lol

I figured everyone was getting rid of the bio balls and filter pad. I just got them to clear up the water from the start. Will the first chamber be wide enough to put an aqua C remora HOB skimmer in there?