What do you have?

georgiasunflower

Market
Reaction score
Since I am trying to decide what the best filtration system is for me, I am curious to know how most of you do it. Do you have hang-on filters, Canister filters, internal filters, etc, or do you simply have a fuge/sump system?

IF you have the sump system then is your tank Drilled? I am scared to high heaven to have a sump since my tank is not drilled and the only kind of overflow I could have is on the back. I have had one semi-serious flood with my fluval (my fault not the filter's) and it scares me to death to consider risking another.

I am really interested to know how most of you handle the over flow issues. Given that I am new to this you may have already had this discussion long ago. If so, could you point me to the thread?

Thank you lots for the help!

sump for me. I run a drilled BB tank so there is nothing in it other than water. Got a nice skimmer (recirculated) and thats all I use. Before I ran a non-drilled tank with a HOB. They arent that scarey, and never had an issue. IMO best ones out there are the CPR's with the aqua lifter. That way if the power goes out, the aqua lifter is there to make sure the syphon restarts properly everytime when the power comes back on. i think you can implement the aqualifter on any overflow, with a lil bit of DIY work that is. Its all a gambeling game....just because you run a drilled tank doesnt mean your tank will never overflow. You get that durso clogged and youre screwed!

SUmp seems to be the way to go. I have a 20g sump 10g fuge and an external skimmer. Sumps are great because they hide all the mess and it adds to your water volume, which is always good. I could drill your tank for you, just find out if it is tempered - you will have to call and ask the company. If there is water in it i could drill it as well.