What Fish?

kdg

Market
Reaction score
Hello,

I came across Tristan Lougher's book, "What Fish?" at a used book store the other day. As i was reading through it i noticed that well more than half of the roughly 200 fish described in the book require the fishkeeper to add it first or add it last, depending on its particular temperament. I understand the inherent risks involved when breaking these rules, but I am curious to know how others handle this matter in actual practice.

In other words, when you build/buy a tank, do you typically enter with the mindset that this tank will be intended to display a Koran Angel (to take one example), with every other fish, rock, invert, etc., added exclusively with the needs/temperament of the Koran in mind? Or, even if you want to add a Koran, do you typically take a more holistic approach, even if you know that this approach may not meet the textbook needs of keeping a Koran?

As a relative newbie, I continuously come across several new species that appeal to me. As i plan for a new, larger tank (current 29g), I am trying to figure out whether to follow a scripted strategy built around a single fish, or whether to simply strive for a healthy, balanced tank, and just hope that my desired centerpiece fish can handle it.

Thanks for reading and for offering guidance based on your experience.

I've been kind of in the same boat. I'm a newbie and have a small tank. I tend to want everything! I kind of narrowed it down to what I really REALLy want and then base everything else around that.

Yeah, realistically it's very difficult to hold to that rule. Like when I added a 6-line wrasse last to my 29gal BC. A year or so later my blend passed. I added another, not the exact same type either, and the 6-line ignored it. Best you can do is monitor closely and if you see aggression, pick which one to remove and sell.