Your opinion on my lighting decision - please

geno

Market
Reaction score
<span style="font-family: Comic Sans MS;"><span style="font-size: 13px;">With some great help from a fellow ARC member, I have narrowed my search for lighting to the following. This will be for my 125g 72" tank with the idea of using LR and keeping LPS (not sure about SPS). Frankly, all I know is that it seems that SPS is more challenging to keep than LPS. Since I'm just getting started, it will likely be quite awhile before I venture into the more difficult species (fish or coral) to maintain.</span></span>

<span style="font-family: Comic Sans MS;"><span style="font-size: 13px;">The links are below -- your comments please.</span></span>

<span style="font-family: Comic Sans MS;"><span style="font-size: 13px;">-geno</span></span>

http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=CU-USA01082&Category_Code">http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=CU-USA01082&Category_Code</a>=

[IMG]http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=CU-USA01074&Category_Code">http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=CU-USA01074&Category_Code</a>=

I used the 48" 2x150w HQI version of the Outer Orbit for years over my 55g reef tank and loved it. It was a little tricky to hang at first, but after it was up I had great success with my LPS and SPS. My vote goes for the Outer Orbit, but I have had no experience with the other setup. Enjoy.

If it was me I would probably go with the Nova Extreme. Those fixtures have individual reflectors for the T5's and consume half the electricity of the outer orbit. If the lamps are not included I would go with better lamps then the current brand. I would use the aqua blues,or maybe some different spectrums from URI,ATI,Giesemann.