Zoas Help

dvara78

Market
Reaction score
Hey guys....I'm fairly new to saltwater world and have learned a lot from this site.

I recently started a 10g Nano project and it's been up and running for about a month now.

I was lucky enough to get the live rock from someone that was giving it away from an established tank. It came with TONS of mushrooms, Kenya Tree and a bunch of Zoas.

Lately the Zoas seem to be slowly dying off. They turn white at the base and then crumble off.

Here are the parameters of my tank;
Nitrate 0ppm
Nitrite 0ppm
Ammonia 0ppm
PH 8.4
gravity 1.023
Temp 79

I don't have a calcium test kit but will get one today.
I am also running a Coralife 50/50 36W power compact light and have another 10g sump for filtration....there is no media in the sump except some sand and live rock in the middle chamber.

Last night i rechecked everything and added some smaller power heads to increase movement.

Am i missing something...please advise because i don't want them to die. The Kenya Tree and Mushrooms are doing fine.

It could possibly be the change in lighting from the previous tank to your 36W. Zoas/Palys are quite hardy so there must be some other reason that just water parameters. Try moving them to the top of the 10G and see if that helps.

How long have the zoas been in your tank? Did you acclimate properly for temperature? If any of the zoas are out, you can try feeding them with phytoplex to get them healthy and possibly stay out. I had a temp. swing in my tank from 79 to 74 and my zoas closed up and started to die off. When I brought the temp up all my corals were looking great except my zoas. I would only have one or two polyps coming out. I started dosing phyto and now all are out and thriving. I'm not saying the phyto is the key, but it might help. All your parameters look fine. Be careful in dosing not to drive up nitrates.

Look real close for white spots on the zoas before they die off.