20G LPS focused tank

northgahillbilly

Market
Reaction score
I kept a reef tank throughout my time in highschool and into the first year of college, as things got busier I broke down my tank and had my mom keep ~30 pounds of LR going with circulation and some light, it didnt get much in the way of upkeep past that for ~5 years. I graduated and the fiance and I are in a house now so it seemed right to get the tank back going. I grew up in White County, and any stores with salt, or other reefers, were FAR away which made it really hard to have a diverse tank and reach out to other folks, now that I'm down in Marrietta I have already gotten several frags form local folks.

The tank is an old Oceanic 24"x18"x12" that I got when a store was going out of buisness. I plan to upgrade to a deep blue 24"x24"x12" rimless tank, but that entails making a stand, a return pump, all that jazz so its a ways off.

Lighting is a 150 watt Aqua Medic with a 14K Phonix bulb supplemented with a Panorama Pro Actinic LED strip. Flow comes from a Jeabo WP-10 and a Koralina 425. An AC 300 filled with LR rubble, chemipure elite and filter floss gives some more flow and some filtration.

Im slowly building up a mix of zoas and palys, there is a small colony of purple acans, a hollywood stunner chalice, little encrusting red chalice frag, orange plate that's really coming into its own over the last few days, little watermelon chalice frag, purple green and red caps and a little birdsnest frag

Lone fish is a yellow clown goby, I gave the boss, aka fiance, her choice on fish and I think I'll end up with some clowns before too long.

Hope yall like it

image_zpsd69615d7.jpg
alt="" />

IMG_0140_zpsa0e5d8db.jpg
alt="" />

IMG_0135_zps33f67ae3.jpg
alt="" />

IMG_0138_zpsabcb2556.jpg
alt="" />

image1_zps872ee95f.jpeg
alt="" />

image2_zpsb73ff486.jpeg
alt="" />

FTS as of today
IMG_0039_zps4589279e.jpg
alt="" />

Looking forward to being involved here at ARC

NGaHB