30 gal cube saltwater newby needs advice

sleepyreef

Market
Reaction score
My background: I've been messing around with freshwater off and on for the past 15 years. I have been in the freshwater planted tank scene for the past year and a half. I have always been afraid of setting up a saltwater tank, but then it all hit me about a month ago....For all this time/effort/$$$ I put into a planted tank, I could be enjoying a beautiful saltwater tank.

My equipment on hand:
30 gal Oceanic cube w/stand, Rena filstar 3 canister filter, Orbit PC 2X40 lights - one 6500k and 1 dual actinic bulb.

29 gal regular w/stand, Rena filstar 2 canister filter, DIY 2X55 lights - both 9325k

What I want:
To begin with I would like a live rock tank w/a few fish such as clowns, gramas, chromis, and/or a blenny plus some inverts. Not too many fish, just a few happy ones. I would like to eventually add a few corals. I would rather go with the 30 cube because it is much nicer looking than the 29 gal.

What I know:
I know that it takes time to setup and cycle a SW tank. I am in no rush. I have spent a month so far just reading up. I really would like to go with a sump so that I don't clutter up my tank w/equipment and just to make life easier. But I don't want to drill holes in my tank and I'm scared of a HOB overflow box malfunctioning and flooding my floor. Is there a way to prevent a HOB from malfunctioning? If I need to I can use the canister filters and just plumb in the heater, but is this a bad thing over the sump? My canisters are really quiet and I love them and I have this longing feeling to incorporate them into my setup. But this may just be to justify the money that I spent on them.