5 strange questions

putemup

Market
Reaction score
1. How can my tank be aptasia free for several years now I'm starting to see stalks again?

2. Are there any fish or shrimp besides the peppermint shrimp (they eat my corals) that will actively at the 3-4 stalks of aptasia I have in my tank?

3. Is the coral in the picture alive or dead? Besides the small amount of green at its ends the rest of the coral is white and covered with alage?

4. What caused algae to suddenly attach itself to this coral?

5. How do I clear the algae off of the coral? I've tried pulling it off and scrubbing it off and nothing seems to work.
<fieldset class="gc-fieldset">
<legend> Attached files </legend>
999468=57807-coral.jpg
>
999468=57807-coral.jpg
class="gc-images" title="coral.jpg[/IMG] style="max-width:300px" /></a> </fieldset>

I'm no expert but I think algae will only grow on dead sections of the coral where the skeleton is exposed

1. Have u added and coral in the last several years? Aiptasia can be on a frag or rock etc..
2. I've just a few I'd use aiptasia x
3. not dead but not healthy. You need to cut the algae away and remove it.
4. Algae can grow on the dead skeleton of the coral
5. Cut it off or I'd use a hydroperoxide Dip

Jimmy

1. I have added many coral frags in the past year. So you are correct that is most likely the source.
2. The chemicals you refer to work great initially but in a couple of weeks the same aptasia returns in the same spot with friends.
5.Is there a recipe or type of hydroperoxide dip I should use? What is the application technique?

When it comes to aiptasia, it can take several attempts.

You'll need to make sure that they "get it" when you hit them with it. Best if you can turn off the flow and do it nice, slowly, and with patience.