Algae in new tank

circlek

Market
Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm a newbie and I am looking for a little reassurance.

I have a 29 gallon biocube that is about 2 weeks old. It has 20 pounds of live rock and about 40 pounds of live (AgroLive) sand. It cycled so quickly that I never even saw any ammonia or nitrites. The nitrates had climbed to about 20 a couple of days ago so I did a 5 gallon water change. Saltwater was bought from a LFS.

I have 6 astrea snails and 12 hermits in as a cleaner crew.

Just before the water change I noticed a little rust colored algae starting to grow on the rock. Now, two days later, the algae (I'm assuming its algae) covers about half of the sand and rock.

I have read about these algae blooms, but it is disconcerting to a newbie to watch this happen.

Should I be doing anything, or will it just take care of itself?

Karl

Happens to all of us... it is called life :)

after it calms down.... skim, keep alk and calc up and it should burn it self out.

Bad light or direct sun will screw everything I just said :(

sorry,

hope this helps...

Welcome to ARC.

Best if you use your own salt mix.
If you can then get an ro/di Unit. It will save you money in the long run and you know forsure that your watter are clean rather then trusted someone else water.

Welcome to ARC!!

Sounds like a diatom bloom which is apart of the cycle. Does it look like a light dusting all over the place? If so, don't worry, it will go away.

I think you can trust the water from the LFS. However, it will be cheaper in the long run if you mix your own water.

I think you can trust the water from a few fish stores, but certainly not all of them.

Many don't change the filters when they need to be changed, and some don't mix the salt to 1.025 to save money.

if your tank is only two weeks in and you didnt see an ammonia spike then your cycle probably hasnt even spiked.