All-in-One tanks

dball711

Supporting
Reaction score
With all the discussion about the group buy on 50g low boy tanks and several folks talking about doing all-in-ones, I thought I would share some info on a design I came up with back in the mid 80's. I've been building all-in-one tanks for 3 decades anywhere from 2.5g up to 150g. Had some tie today so I made a short video and wanted to share.

Thanks Dave! Do you recommend a certain thickness for the acrylic? Also do you have a source for it?

Thanks Dave! Do you recommend a certain thickness for the acrylic? Also do you have a source for it?

As far as sourcing acrylic, @tonytran509 can pretty much get whatever you need. Working with acrylic is what he does professionally and I know a few folks have gotten sheet good and pre-cut pieces from him.

I can get those cut to specs with all the slots and everything. I just need some details as i know everyone is going to run skimmer/no skimmer and different return pumps.

For thickness I agree, on the 50g, 3/16” is fine. I’ve used 1/8” on 2.5g to 5g tanks, 1/4 on 10 to 40g tanks, 3/8” on 50g to 90g tanks and 1/2” on 120g to 150g tanks. A word of caution on measuring the glass to glass width, the measurement should be 1/4” less so there is 1/8” between the edge of the acrylic wall and the aquarium glass. If the acrylic touches the sides of the tank there is a ham egg the aquarium can pop a seam and leak. There needs to be a cushion of silicone between the sides of the acrylic and the tank glass.

this is not a concern on the internal dividers in back of the false wall, they can but up to the glass.

@dball if you or anyone else can get me some dimensions I can draw it up in CAD.

Nice. I was trying to copy the back of my Nuvo40 for my frag tank, but this design looks groovy as well and much simpler

Dave your corals are some of the most beautiful I've ever seen.