Anybody use Marietta water out of the tap

holabird

Market
Reaction score
Just bought a 300 gallon acrylic tank and am getting it set up. I have had tanks before but just getting back in. I have never used tap water before but have talked to numerous people that have. I know tap water varies by different cities. I can go the RODI route but the initial 300 gallons will take me forever. Please don't bash me for thinking of using tap water as I know some of you do. Thanks

I use carbon filtered then Primed water near Town Center to top off my 5g at work.

I am considering doing treated tap water for a FOWLR at home. I need to test for phosphate but I used it for FW that was in a window that got a lot of light and didn't have any algae issues.

No I have never considered using tap water no matter how large or small the project is. If you believe RODI water is the correct route, why would size matter other than creating a larger problem...

With a tank that size are you planning on putting in a mixing station?

Depending on your water pressure you could put in a 150gal/day RODI system. If your pressure isn't high enough you could put a booster pump on it.

My incoming psi is 96-98 and it takes about 14 hours to fill 2 55 gallon drums.

I would STRONGLY recommend against using tap water. My suggestion is to be patient and make RO Water to fill the tank. Or if you don't want to wait pick up the water at a LFS for the initial filling.

I would not want to start a brand new tank on the wrong foot like that.

When I set up the 120, close to 6 years ago, I used tap (in in my case well) water. I always had an minor algae issue in that tank. It never went away, although I was able to keep it in check with herbivores and media. I don't know if the well water caused it or bad maintenance practices caused it as I am guilty of both. The entire time it was set up in the back of my mind, I wondered about if I caused it.