Apex salinity/conductivity question.

Adam

Trustee
Staff member
Sponsor
Supporting
Reaction score
I've been mixing water with a refractometer for a couple months now. I calibrate every other use. Mixing to 35ppt and QT to about 30. So far fish, shrimp and feather dusters have been fine.

Today I finally connected the conductivity probe and went through the calibration sequence meticulously twice. It's now reading 38.5 and when I checked it with the refractometer which shows just under 35.

I don't want make knee jerk changes but which one should I trust as accurate? I can live with the apex reading higher as long as its stable. It's just the ocd part of me wants them to match.

The Salinity probes are notoriously inaccurate. But, you can use it to chart changes. I believe you can adjust it down to what your refractometer reads. :)

Thanks for the info. Now I just need to figure out how to lower it. I'm temp compensating it but any changes I've made don't get me any closer.

Your welcome. It's been a while and I sold mine after having the same issues. I'll try and find a post in the Neptune forums for you.

Looks like I was mistaken. I searched the Neptune forums and other than temp compensation and ensuring proper calibration it pretty much is what it is. Here is a link to the forum that has some suggestions on proper calibration. Sorry. :(

showthread.php

Thanks again Brett!

I've been doing a bunch of reading. From what I found the probe reads more than just salt. The Mag in the IO salt I'm using is reading around 1485 with a Salifert test. When you add to that the +/- accuracy of each they're both within range.

I'll still mix with the refractometer and use the probe to monitor for consistency and irregularities.

Your welcome Adam. I'm glad you got it figured out. I've read they are useful for monitoring. I'll bet they figured out how to correct the issues with the new version of the Apex. I believe the Salinity probe is included now.