Atlanta's Largest Single Bubble Algea!!

washowi

Market
Reaction score
When this thing blows....God help me!

Other than take the rock work down, any ideas? It's been in there over a year. I am thinking let sleeping dogs lie....and hope it never blows. No joke, this thing is over 3" across!!

Fish117-1.jpg
alt="" />

Well, I'm far from an expert, but if you do decide to take it out, one way to keep it from exploding everywhere my be to take a sandwich baggie and try to wrap in inside and close it around the bottom of the bubble...JMO.

This thing is 28" deep in the water....At the complete base of all rock work...

It's big and I am not sure about grabbing it and wiggling it free as for tweezers...I would need a pair of pliers of vise grips..This thing is not small.

I will try to free it somehow...if it spurts on me. am I living a life of bubble algae?

<span style="font-family: Comic Sans MS;"><span style="font-size: 13px;"><span style="color: darkgreen;">You know - if you DIDN'T KNOW it was a pest - it is kind of cool looking. :shades: </span></span></span>
<span style="font-family: Comic Sans MS;"><span style="font-size: 13px;"><span style="color: darkgreen;"></span></span></span>
<span style="font-family: Comic Sans MS;"><span style="font-size: 13px;"><span style="color: darkgreen;">Margi</span></span></span>

What about using a siphon hose getting it starting drawing out water and place the siphon hose over the bubble algae and using the edges of the hose to gently release the bubble from the rock. That way, if the bubble breaks you have a fast suction of water to contain it and dispose of it.

Tanner86;53360 wrote: What about using a siphon hose getting it starting drawing out water and place the siphon hose over the bubble algae and using the edges of the hose to gently release the bubble from the rock. That way, if the bubble breaks you have a fast suction of water to contain it and dispose of it.