Best Aptasia removal for nano?

joshainga

Market
Reaction score
I've been battling Aptasia in my nuvo 25 for a few months. I've been using Red Sea Aptasia X and it seems every time I use it I get several more that pop up. I make sure that the Aptasia take it in as if they are feeding and turn return pump as well as the wavemaker off for at least 15 mins to make sure that the paste stays on them. Any ideas if I'm doing something wrong?

I use this: https://atlantareefclub.org/boards/index.php?threads/reef-napalm.38760/

It will melt aptasia. I stick a syringe in each individual aptasia and press plunger just before making contact. I had some very large aptasia and it cleared them out.
The only other real way I’d trust to get rid of them are aptasia eating nudibranch but they’re harder to find and pricey. They’d be my last resort.

Peppermint shrimp seems like a good choice for a nano tank.. Seems they are hit or miss though. Do you have fish? If not I think the chance of success with peppermint shrimp goes way up, since you don't have to feed they are much more likely to eat Aiptasia.

I got one peppermint shrimp for my 22g after seeing just a few aiptasia. I never saw another aiptasia after that. The peppermint shrimp lasted about 6 months then one day disappeared. That was 2 years ago Aiptasia free.

I'll have some berghia nudibranch available starting Feb 20th. These are the only way to get aiptasia out. I've also tried everything. Berghia will be $15 each and you'll need 5 for a tank that size.

I'll have some berghia nudibranch available starting Feb 20th. These are the only way to get aiptasia out. I've also tried everything. Berghia will be $15 each and you'll need 5 for a tank that size.
Sign me up for my 29 gallon.

I also use reef napalm that @hiimsean alluded to. But I do have good luck with Aptaia X too and that's usually my first line of defense. Here's the exact stuff I use: