Best Filtration for Nano's?

linda lee

Market
Reaction score
My goal is sparkling water in a 12g, and I know it can be achieved because I've seen it.

I have a 12g Cube Master which I absolutely loved -- for about a week. The filtration in 3 chambers is:

Intake Chamber - some kind of cotton/cloth-like material that looks like quilt batting. This gets absolutely filthy so I take it out every other week or so and rinse it. I don't know if I should be replacing it, where I can get it or even what it's called.

Middle Chamber - mesh bag of carbon and mesh bag of http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod_display.cfm?c=3578+4136+15433&pcatid=15433">this stuff</a>. The carbon I replace, the other stuff I rinse and reuse. Should I replace it also?

3rd Chamber - return pump.

No instructions came with the Cube Master, so I'm pretty much guessing as to set up.

This tank gets dirty fast. Stuff floats on the surface and there is no surface skimmer (I'm not even sure what that is).

The tank occupants are: 1 large piece of L/R, GBTA, pair of B&W clowns, 2 pom pom crabs a couple of small hermits and snails and various corals (ric, bubble coral, small kenya, shrooms, plate coral, birdsnest, GSP, suncoral). l feed this tank every other day.

I'm considering a nano skimmer for one of the chambers, if it'll fit but I'm not sure how that would work or which chamber, etc. And I don't know which skimmer to buy.

============

2nd tank is a 12g [IMG]http://www.atlantareefclub.org/forums/showthread.php?t=17550">nano cube DX</a> I got from a member here. It seems to be much better made. Tank has been running for a couple of weeks with sand and LR. Only filtration I've put in there is a sponge. Previous owner used bioballs. If I use this one, the lighting is PC, and I'm not sure it would support the GBTA.

============

I want to take a nano tank to work, but need to figure out the filtration and set-up first so I won't have a huge mess on my hands at the office.