Big Problems, Need help!

Bernard.a.ford

Reaction score
I went to work today, everything was perfectly fine. Once I get home, three of my fish where dead. I tested the water. Everything looks fine to me. Maybe anyone can help me of steer me in the right direction. My water parameters is as follows:

Salt- 1.026
PH- 8.20
NO3- 10-20
NO2- 0
NH3/NH4- 0.2
ORP- 280
KH- 3.21 (Used Red Sea, I got lost on the results)
Temp did drop to 76.6. I left my heat off down stairs this morning.

Does anyone see anything that may be off so bad to kill the livestock? I’m also very new to reef keeping.

That temp drop should not have hurt them

You have ammonia in the tank with no nitrite but some nitrate - hopefully that is from the fish that died. Test again today and see if that NH3/NH4 goes back down to zero.
What measurement value are you testing KH ? If that is dKH - that is really low. I would double check that measurement as well as salinity.

Did anyone clean house while you were gone? possible that someone sprayed window cleaner or something in the vicinity of the tank?

Like bhodges asked - what is the age of the tank, what else is in the tank (corals? they OK?) etc.

Any fish left? If so, do they have any visible signs of disease or behavior indicating such?

- spots on the fish
- flashing (scratching themselves on rocks/sand)
- swimming awkwardly, hiding
- swimming into the powerheads

My tank has been established for 9 months now. I don’t have any corals in their for real. Only some mushrooms. Two of the fish that died did have Ick. One was new, didn’t see him eat while I was feeding. All the other fish in now are looking pretty good. Also, nobody was home to do any cleaning. I also converted the KH to DKH. It’s 9.828! This morning I also topped off my fresh water.

I'm going to have to take that last statement back, I just looked in on my Anemone. He is looking pretty small, not puffed up or tentacles thick.