Body slime fugus

kevinathom

Market
Reaction score
I woke this morning to find a clown nearly dead. It had a white slime on it and appears to be body slime fungus. Now my tang looks awful. This stuff is fast. I have a 65 gal reef tank and am alternating 5 and 10 gallon changes every Saturday. Chems look good. No nitrates and nitrites or ammonium. Any suggestions on how to get rid of this without killing my corals

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

I'm no expert but most likely a parasite. I'd qt all fish ASAP. Post pics, and ask dr. Jenn

A kohl, sailfin, and yellow. They are all young. The Kohl died this afternoon. I went by pure reef and am using metronidazole. I'm hoping it helps before the others die.

:sick: Here are two pictures of my sailfin as of this morning. My kohl died yesterday - whatever this is, it has acted fast. This sailfin looks slightly different than the kohl and the clown. In addition to the white spots, the clown and the kohl looked like a white film was coming off of them almost like a snake sheds its skin. I don't know where this could have come from or how to get rid of it, but any suggestions will be appreciated. I hate the thought of losing the rest of my fish. Btw....corals still look fine which seems to make water quality less likely to be the culprit. :sick:

ive never seen anything like that before sorry about the fish loss

Holy smokes :(

The slime you're describing on the clowns sounds like Brooklynella. Clowns are particularly vulnerable to it, but any fish can catch it, and some never show symptoms but can carry it.

Fungus is pretty rare in saltwater - the salt inhibits it.

Brooklynella can kill within hours - as you witnessed.

That Sailfin... wow, I'm not sure what to make of that. You likely have more than one thing going on there. At first glance, I thought Ich, but it's larger than most Ich I've seen.