Calcium reactor setup

lshin037

Market
Reaction score
I'll be setting up a calcium reactor soon and been reading up on how to set it up. The write up on the top of this forum has helped tremendously but I have a question on the CO2 injection part. I will be using my apex to control a solenoid based off a ph probe inside the chamber. It's been strongly recommended to get the carbondoser electronic regulator/bubble counter. If you use your apex to control the injection of co2, wouldnt it ok to use a regular regulator and set the bubble count to a bit more than the exact amount needed (if you need to set it to 60 bpm, you set it to something slightly higher like 65-70)? Im thinking the exact bubble count wouldnt matter since the apex is doing the controlling.

I'm no expert myself, but i beleive that the carbon doser is probably easier to adjust, the apex would still be used as a controller with either carbon doser or regulator. My personal carx has the Milwaukee regulator on it and it works just fine. I didn't really see the added value in the cost of a carbon doser vs regulator. One thing I would definately recommend is getting a quality adjustable peristaltic pump to feed the carx.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

Watch the new BRS videos on calcium reactors- it’s on their YouTube channel

I'm no expert myself, but i beleive that the carbon doser is probably easier to adjust, the apex would still be used as a controller with either carbon doser or regulator. My personal carx has the Milwaukee regulator on it and it works just fine. I didn't really see the added value in the cost of a carbon doser vs regulator. One thing I would definately recommend is getting a quality adjustable peristaltic pump to feed the carx.

Indeed it would be easier and almost a necessity if you didnt use an apex. Im thinking if the apex is doing the controlling, you dont have to worry so much about the bubble count. It would be another failsafe.