Can someone help me with Aquascaping?

triga22

Market
Reaction score
Im not sure if anyone is up for it but can you come and help me aquascape my tank? I really dont like the look of it and Im not good at it. I have seen plenty picutres of peoples amazing aquascaping. Can someone help or explain how to make it look good?

Its an art... some people have the talent, some don't.
Unfortunately... I don't. lol

How big's your tank? I may be able to help...

Of course, if I set it up and you dislike it and rearrange it again in front of me, I'm gonna have to crack your tank. :)

I'll post of a pic of what I just did to my 29g to see if you like it.

Hello,

I like what A. Calfo says about aquascaping, and that is to leave plenty of room between the rock and your tank walls (3" +/-) as well as plenty of holes in the rock work itself, i.e., don't just pile them densly (sp?) together.

The logic is to provide more water flow throughout your rockwork and tank and reduce the amount of detrius that will settle in "dead" spots.

As for the actual "art" of it... well, I can't claim any skill in that dept. :)

Oh my, I've aquascaped like 3 times in my 30 gallon long and still can't get it looking good. I might spend an hour stacking rock. Putting one here, one there, stepping away to see how I like it, and when I'm finished, it looks like someone just dumped 30 pounds of rock in the middle of my tank. My tank sits out in the room like a room divider, so it can be seen from 3 sides. I'm an artistic person otherwise, I'm just not good at the medium of rock. I'm up for any advice I can get, Thanks, Dakota

I called in Stevhan over at Fishy to "teach" me how to do it.... It was not cheap but I learned ALOT about the art form.

I normally agree with Matt and Calfo on aquascaping but anything under a 75gal is next to impossible to leave 3" on wach side and still have room for the rock. In tanks under a 75 gal, good water flow makes all the difference in the world.